fbpx

Rebecca Miles

Rebecca A. Miles (Stepek) was raised, educated, and established her career in the city of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. From her work as a psychologist specializing in Behavioral Medicine in Oncology, she became a recognized expert and presenter on grief, the grieving process, and the psychology of dealing with loss. 

In Broken Glass, the second novel in her Pittsburgh Murder Mystery Series, Kate Chambers, amateur sleuth, and Chief Detective Stefan Jablonsky, follow the trial of a murderer into the rarified world of art collecting.They come to understand that collectors are often driven by an obsession to possess certain objects, either because they appreciate and are moved by their beauty, or because they imbue the object with a spiritual significance. Sometimes the desire to possess art is simply greed.Kate and Jablonsky must answer the question of whether there is any limit to what a collector in the grip of obsession will do in order to obtain an antique piece of blown glass.

Rebecca A. Miles holds a doctorate in psychology from Duquesne University.

  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Facebook twitter50 twitter50 twitter50 Goodreads  Amazon  bookbub 50

line

Broken GlassObsession can be deadly.

When a fellow student in her glass blowing class drops dead, finding his killer becomes personal for amateur sleuth Kate Chambers. The young Eugene Rose had a bright future as a historian in the world of art collecting; luckily for Chief Detective Jablonsky, Kate’s connections to that world make her a valuable asset to his investigations. Her people skills open doors into situations that the chief needs a warrant to enter, and even though he often fears for her safety, her psychological insights have proven worth the risk.

The deeper they dig, the more complicated this case becomes. How is a family heirloom tied to the local parish? What really happened on a study abroad trip to Italy? And how did all of that lead to the untimely death of Eugene Rose?

Kate and Jablonksy are determined to catch Eugene Rose’s murderer before more deaths follow.

This traditional mystery will keep you guessing all the way to the end. Broken Glass is the second book in the Pittsburgh Murder Mystery series; however, each book can be read as a stand-alone or in order of publication.

Preorder Now

Bookshop apple100 KoboBarnes and NobleAmazon Read Sample


Ground Truth

Kate Chambers knows that cold cases are almost always a lost cause.

So when two skeletons are discovered in Pittsburgh and Kate believes that she has insider information about the crime, she joins Chief Detective Stefan Jablonsky in his investigation. She's determined to find justice for the family.

It doesn't take long to identify the victims: two siblings who had gone missing twenty years ago. As Kate digs into the neighborhood and Jablonsky starts chasing down leads, the list of suspects grows.

With the cold case reopened and witnesses dying soon after coming forward, it's clear that someone has a lot to lose. Kate and Jablonsky must work together to unravel the mysteries and make sure that whoever killed the siblings doesn't get away with murder a second time.

 Perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Ann Cleeves, and Kerry Greenwood, this mystery will keep you guessing all the way to the end.

Bookshop apple100 KoboBarnes and NobleAmazon Read SampleDiscussion Questions

What Readers are Saying:

"A smart mystery with finely drawn characters and definite sense of place." –Amazon Reviewer

"I was kept guessing til' the very end, so kudos to the author! I'm also still thinking about the characters after having finished the book 2 days ago....so definitely a good read. Can't wait to read the next book!" –Amazon Reviewer

"I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it! The plot is very clever and has some unexpected twists. All of the characters are well developed and interesting." –Amazon Reviewer