fbpx

Rebecca Miles

Rebecca A. Miles (Stepek) was raised, educated, and established her career in the city of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. From her work as a psychologist specializing in Behavioral Medicine in Oncology, she became a recognized expert and presenter on grief, the grieving process, and the psychology of dealing with loss. 

Through the fictional characters in Ground Truth: A Pittsburgh Murder Mystery, she explores the themes of loss and love, two states that she considers to be universal in human experience.

She believes that, “All forms of criminality are about loss—the loss of the rule of law and its subsequent effect on the community, the loss ofprivacy and security in one’s home, the loss of control over one’s body, the death of dear friends and family due to criminal acts, and the loss of meaningful family possessions. When you write about murder, you are writing both about loss and also our ability to come through it, maybe scarred but stronger.”

Rebecca A. Miles holds a doctorate in psychology from Duquesne University.

  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Facebook twitter50 twitter50 twitter50 Goodreads  Amazon  bookbub 50

line

Ground Truth

Kate Chambers knows that cold cases are almost always a lost cause.

So when two skeletons are discovered in Pittsburgh and Kate believes that she has insider information about the crime, she joins Chief Detective Stefan Jablonsky in his investigation. She's determined to find justice for the family.

It doesn't take long to identify the victims: two siblings who had gone missing twenty years ago. As Kate digs into the neighborhood and Jablonsky starts chasing down leads, the list of suspects grows.

With the cold case reopened and witnesses dying soon after coming forward, it's clear that someone has a lot to lose. Kate and Jablonsky must work together to unravel the mysteries and make sure that whoever killed the siblings doesn't get away with murder a second time.

 Perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Ann Cleeves, and Kerry Greenwood, this mystery will keep you guessing all the way to the end.

Bookshop apple100 KoboBarnes and NobleAmazon Read Sample