fbpx

Eva ShawFor as long as he can remember Lorenzo has been an observer, an explorer, and a storyteller.

As a young boy and inspired by old Hollywood movies such as Robin Hood or Prince Valiant, he penned extraordinary tales of heroes rescuing loved ones in distress. ​But most of all, he cherished writing about the summers at his maternal grandparents' farm where no one bullied him and no man ever desired him. ​Alone there, surrounded by Cuba’s beautiful countryside, away from the chaos of his Havana home, he would discover his perseverance and strength.

He arrived in New York City at seventeen after a two-year exile in Spain without any money, not knowing the language, and lacking the skills to step into a world unlike anything that he had ever known. Against a mountain of obstacles, Lorenzo found a way to make his new country home, attend college, and build a professional and personal life for himself.

Today, he lives in Virginia, USA, with his husband of over twenty-five years and a spirited Corgi Mix named Lucy Honeychurch in honor of E. M. Forster’s protagonist in A Room with a View.

    Facebook linkedin50  Goodreads  Instagram  Amazon  bookbub 50

line

The Maid

"Chavez is an exciting new voice in our LGBTQ and Latinx literary community.” –Emanuel Xavier, author and activist

In this semi-autobiographical novel set in mid 20th century Cuba, Lorenzo Chavez reveals the moving story of a boy determined to stay true to who he is and find happiness against all odds.

Told in a series of first-person vignettes, Martín's story covers a wide swath of the Cuban landscape and people, taking us from the lush greens and fertile soils of the countryside to the dark underbelly of a Havana as full of depravity as it is neon lights. 

After suffering a series of heartbreaking abuses, Martín struggles to find his way and claim his identity as a young gay man in an impoverished neighborhood. When the Revolution slowly begins to claim everything Martín holds dear, he takes a desperate leap of faith—one that could cost him his life.

Martín's coming of age story is one of courage and the rebirth of a brave young man who refuses to hide his light.

This novel is perfect for fans of Achy Obejas, Cristina Garcia, and Carmen Maria Machado.

Bookshop Apple Kobo Barnes and Noble amazon100Read Sample

 Awards, Reviews, and Coverage

"The Light of a Cuban Son is a poignant historical novel about a young man’s turbulent coming-of-age during a time of revolution." –Dontaná McPherson-Joseph, Foreword Reviews